Heini Murer; Biographical sketch

Heini Murer was born in 1944 in Beckenried (NW; Switzerland). He earned his M Sc in Biology from the University of Fribourg and his Ph D in Biochemistry at the Institute of Biochemistry of the same institution, his Ph D supervisor was Prof. P. Portmann. The next three years he spent as a Postdoctoral Fellow at the ETH Zurich at the Laboratory of Biochemistry under the tutelage of Prof. Dr. G. Semenza. From there he went in 1975 to the Max-Planck Institute in Frankfurt and joined the Renal Physiology Laboratory headed by Profs KJ Ullrich and RKH Kinne. In 1978 he started to lead his own research group at the Max Planck Institute.

In 1979 he joined the faculty of the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Fribourg as an Assistant Professor. In 1981 he moved on to professorship ('Extraordinarius') at the Institute of Physiology of the University of Zurich where he was awarded full professorship ('Ordinarius') in 1996. He was Head of Department for 8 years. From March 2006 to August 2010 Heini Murer served as Vice-president ('Prorektor') for Medicine and the Sciences at the University of Zurich. In August 2010 he became an 'Emeritus'.

Heini Murer is author/co-author of over 450 research-publications as listed in PubMed.

Heini Murer served on the Editorial Boards of leading scientific journals in his field and was Editor-in-Chief of Pflugers Archiv-European Journal of Physiology from 2001 to 2006. Up to now he is still an Associate Editor of 'Physiology' (American Society of Physiology).

He has been awarded various prizes and honours over the last fifteen years: e.g. Cloëtta Prize (Switzerland), Homer Smith Award (USA), Otto Nägeli Prize (Switzerland).

Adolf Fick Prize (Germany), Franz Volhard Medal (Germany), Robert Berliner Lectureship (Yale University; USA), Robert Pitts Memorial Lectureship (IUPS; USA), Donald W. Seldin Award (National Kidney Foundation; USA), Richard Award (ISN), Borrelli Medaille (Italy) and Johann-Melchior-Wyrsch Prize (Switzerland).

He is an honorary Member of the American Physiological Society and a member of the Academia Europea and the German Academy Leopoldina.

He was member and president of the division 'biology and medicine' of the research council of the Swiss National Science Foundation 1993-2004, chaired the program committee of the 'World Congress of Nephrology' in Berlin 2003 (9000 participants) and the Gordon Research Conference on Membrane Transport Proteins in 2004. At present he is still chairperson of the Scientific Advisory Board of EDTA-ERA (European Renal Association) and serves on the selection panel for 'Starting Grants' of the European Research Council (ERC).